Comet Elenin 2nd July 2011

Comet Elenin is no longer visible from our original observing location with the comet being just 17 degrees above the horizon.

We reserved time on a secondary telescope in a different country where the position of Elenin is a little higher in the sky….. however as you can see by the picture below we are getting a lot of interference from it’s low position to the horizon.

The picture below left shows a closer shot to comet elenin while the image below right is smaller but much each easier to see.

 

Elenin 2nd July (Click to Enlarge)

~ by sydneystargazers on July 2, 2011.

5 Responses to “Comet Elenin 2nd July 2011”

  1. Guys,

    You may want to check out NASA’s STEREO-B space probe. Comet Elenin will be in VERY CLOSE fly by by end of July. Surely NASA can take many pictures and videos of Elenin just like they did with Encke when they showed how the sun blasted comet Encke’s tail with a CME last 2007.

    Watch STEREO-B.

    • At the end of July , Comet Elenin will be roughly the same distance from the Sun as Earth is. However Elenin will be no where near the Earth. STEREO-B though at this stage is trailing behind the Earth and will in fact be in a good position to spot the comet.

      So the question is will we get to see pictures of Elenin using STEREO-B?

      The good news is … YES.

      On July 31 STEREO-B will be rolled over so that it’s cameras are pointing directly at comet Elenin…..so we should have great pictures of the comet until August 12 when STEREO-B resumes it’s other activities.

      In the 2 weeks that Elenin is being watched by STEREO-B, we will be analyzing the pictures of Elenin and showing our results here.

  2. Hello, my name is Francis Walsh. I am imaging Elenin as well and have a number of images. You can see my work to date on my YT channel ThePerfectMinds. I was wondering if you could email a better version of your image to awewriter@gmail.com?

    I took a picture Friday night and was unable to take a follow up last night because of clouds in Mayhill New Mexico where the GRAS telescope I have been using is located.

    I think your image, together with my image (.fits files are all original) will help me answer a question I have about my “objects of interest”.

    Your images are very important to my personal search for knowledge plus the tens of thousands of people who are coming to me for their Elenin report.

    Please and thank you,

    Francis Walsh

  3. Thank you for your reply. Would you be willing to allow me to make a short video that blinks back and forth from your image on Jul 2 to my image taken on Jul1. People are interested in seeing it move AND if anything is moving with it (including me) The two pictures together help prove things are not moving with it. Let me know please.

    Thanks in advance.

    Francis Walsh
    http://www.youtube.com/user/theperfectminds

Leave a Reply

 
