Jupiter : Sep 5th 2010

This picture of Jupiter was  captured earlier on today and clearly shows the Great Red Spot on the lower left of the planet.

If you look just above center of the picture, you will see a much smaller spot which looks like a scaled down version of the Great Red Spot.

We also processed the image to bring out some of the features of Jupiter as seen today. The results are shown in the right hand side of the picture below.

Picture Taken 5th September 2010 (Click to Enlarge)

~ by sydneystargazers on September 5, 2010.

2 Responses to “Jupiter : Sep 5th 2010”

  1. The processed image looks great. It really brings out a lot of detail and makes the planet look more 3-dimensional.

    It looks like Sydney might have clear skies tonight (5/9/10) for the first time in a week or more. My software tells me that Io will be transiting Jupiter starting at about 8.50pm when the planet is 22 degrees above the horizon. The transit will take about two hours. I don’t know if Io will be visible against the planet, but I’m going to take a look.
    Also, when the transit starts. the red spot should be close to the middle of its passage across the planet’s disk. So I’m planning to try to see the red spot tonight. I’ve never seen it before and, with the southern equatorial belt still missing, the red spot should be easier to see than usual.

  2. The sky was looking good at around sunset so I set up my 12 inch scope. But by the time Jupiter got high enough to see, there was a lot of patchy cloud around. For the rest of the night I was only able to see the planet sporadically though gaps in the clouds. Unfortunately, Jupiter was also obscured by the roof of my house until shortly after the transit started, so I missed the start – and I was unable to see Io against the planet.

    However, I did see a dark spot close to the middle of the disk. At first I thought it was an optical artefact or illusion, but after watching it for about 10 minutes, I was sure it was real. My software had not shown a shadow transit, so I wasn’t expecting it.

    I quickly did some googling and found this:
    http://www.skyandtelescope.com/observing/objects/javascript/jupiter
    Which indeed showed that Io’s shadow was crossing the planet at that moment!

    As for the red spot… I’m pretty sure I saw it, but I’m not certain. The seeing was terrible, with the image swirling around like I’ve never seen before. I think it was because my line of sight was directly over the roof of my house, which was giving off the heat it had absorbed during the day.

    Unfortunately my observing ended around 10pm when the cloud cover reached 100%. So it was a pretty short session.

Leave a Reply

 
