Almost Tricked by Mother Nature Tonight

After fixing the issues that were plaguing our Message Board, I thought I would go outside and see what the weather was like tonight.

I opened the door and stuck my head outside and the first thing I saw was the Moon……. and then I saw a whole bunch of bright stars in the clear sky above.

It seemed that my predictions of overcast conditions for tonight had become horribly wrong.

(Click to Enlarge)

So I decided to make the most of it and went back inside to grab my Celestron 130 SLT telescope. I wanted to try and take some images of the moon and see how they came out.

As I was about to head out with the telescope, I heard a rumbling noise like thunder. I checked the weather radar and there was no sign of the storm that was predicted for tonight. I went back outside and again saw the moon, stars and the clear skies above.

I then heard the thunder again…… but then I worked out that it was fireworks sounding in the distance.

So I grabbed my telescope from inside and went outside. I went around the side of the house and looked south I saw lots of cloud. In fact there was cloud to the south, west and east of my location. But when I looked north and above…. it was clear sky.

Anyway…. at the time of finishing this post the sky has become mostly cloudy. A pity I had not realised that there had been clear sky before as I might have been able to get in 20 minutes of observing.

~ by sydneystargazers on January 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
