Waning Crescent Moon – 9th January 2010

After taking pictures of Mars early this morning , I turned my camera on the moon which was rising up in the east ….. roughly about 27 degrees above the horizon.

The Moon 09/01/2010 Pre-processing

I was not too overly impressed by the pictures I had taken with the digital camera, and thought most of the shots were a little blurred or not sharp. Keep in mind that when I am taking this pictures I am holding the camera in my hand and pointing it down the telescope lens. This of course issues if I don’t keep my hand steady…. easier said than done.

Anyhow, with taking pictures of moons and planets a lot of the magic can be done in processing the images after the fact.

For example, the picture above was taken at 3:46 this morning and was the 6th shot in the series I had taken of the Moon. For some reason, picture 4 was completely blank so I have no idea what I was taking a picture of.

In the picture above, the image of the Moon on the left is the image as it appeared in the digital camera. Now what I did was to copy this image three times and make 3 different versions of the picture in red,green and blue colors. Next step was to darken the background in each of the 3 color files which removes the noise in the black background. now it is nice and dark.

As you can see with the image on the left of the two, there is detail but not a lot of it. This can be remedied.

Using levels, I adjusted the red,green and blue images individually until I came up with the image on the right as shown above. Now there is a bit more detail.

Tweaking a few more settings, I eventually came up with an image I was happy with . A little blurred at the top but I am still happy with the picture.

If you compare the first picture with the final picture below, you will see that the final picture shows more details to the lunar craters. Plus in the final picture you can see craters not evident in the original picture plus crater impact areas are much sharper in the final image.

The Moon 09/01/2010 Final Result

~ by sydneystargazers on January 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
