Another Picture of Mars – 09/01/2010

Mars 09/01/10 (Click to Enlarge)

Following up from my earlier post this morning on todays early observing session, I thought I would post this 2nd picture I took of Mars on the left which is slightly different to the last one. As with the one in the last post, there is a little bit of light glare in the telescope . I will see if I can get around that with the 2nd observing session with Mars tomorrow at 3:30am.

I am also posting a picture below which shows my capture of Mars on the left of the picture compared to what Mars looks like on the right which was taken with a higher powered telescope and better camera setup than mine. I can vaguely recognize the surface details so I am happy with that picture….. considering these were my first shots of Mars.

I will also have a look at Saturn tomorrow morning if I can see it. I may have to move the telescope to a new position in order to spot saturn.  I suspect that a little more of Saturn’s rings are visible now, but it is possible that at the moment the rings may still appear as a line. But  this I want to test and see how much I can push my scope.

My capture of Mars on left compared with Mars actual image on right

~ by sydneystargazers on January 9, 2010.

One Response to “Another Picture of Mars – 09/01/2010”

  1. Not bad Roy. I was sitting on my balcony last night working, looking at the starts every now and then (watching Mars go across the sky) wishing I had time to make use of the first decently clear night we’ve had in ages to set up my scope and do some observing. I definitely will have to set it up as I really want to observe Mars and Saturn.

Leave a Reply

 
