Lagoon Nebula – Part 1 of 3

Sadly the weather in Sydney lately has not been great . At the moment it is overcast and raining but we do need the rain so I guess we have to live with it.

It has been 2 weeks now since I purchased a light pollution filter and I have still not yet had a chance to try it out due to weather conditions. And it is not looking like I will be able to try it in the coming week with more overcast conditions expected for Sydney.

(Click to Enlarge)

So while we have this break in observing, it gives me a chance to do some more processing with the raw images from the Hubble archives and other telescopes.

For example, the current image processing I am doing at the moment is using 5 FIT image files taken by a 32 inch telescope in Arizona and available on the Internet. These are supplied so people who have the software can process them to bring out color and detail. As I mentioned before, this will give me practical experience in processing these images so that when I upgrade my scope and camera hardware down the track, I can take similar pictures and know how to process them myself.

The current target I am working on is the Lagoon Nebula and this can be seen in the picture above which is how the RED FIT file appears like. As you can see there is no red in this picture but I will be applying red to this image while I am image processing the Lagoon Nebula.

~ by sydneystargazers on December 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
