Solar Powering My Telescope- How Much Power?

I thought I would add a quick post to follow up on my last post about solar powering my telescope.

As I now have a portable DC system tester I am able to see exactly how much power is being generated by the solar panel outside. I wasn’t sure what to expect and the reason I had bought the tester was that I did not know how much power the solar panels were outputting.

Full Solar Power (Click to Enlarge)

As you can see by the picture , I have connected each red connector with the other and each black connector to the other . In other words postive to positive and negative to negative. The red and black smaller clamps on the right are from the solar panel while the larger clamps are from the tester.

As the picture shows, all lights on the tester were lit up indicating maximum power coming from the solar panel.

As I mentioned in my last post, I am all too happy with the results of the solar panel. I also do not have to worry about burning smells of battery chargers as I experienced recently. As far as I know solar panels do not blow up.

~ by sydneystargazers on December 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
