Jupiter – 11th October 2009

Well there was a gap in the clouds last night and I made the most of it…….   However  my location was seriously effected by light pollution so I was  limited with what I could look at. And the Moon wasn’t going to be up for several hours.

So I turned the telescope to Jupiter which by this time was beginning to set in the west. And I could see some clouds heading towards us so I knew there was not much time to view Jupiter.

I decided tonight I was going to try and take pictures of Jupiter with a Dobsonion Telescope……. well that was a harder task than I thought it would be.

I soon found out that it was easier to do astro-photography with my Celestron 130SLT…… but that might be because I had more experience with the 130SLT.

Anyhow, I managed to take a number of pictures and a couple of movies of Jupiter and it’s moons. But most if not all of them were very poor quality. I scrapped all but one picture which I have included below and then packed up the telescope for the night.

About an hour after I had packed up, I noticed on Sky6 that since I had taken the pictures, Jupiter’s Moon Europa had appeared from behind the planet and was now visible between Jupiter and Io.

Jupiter and 3 moons 11/10/2009 ( Click For Larger Picture)

Jupiter and 3 moons 11/10/2009 ( Click For Larger Picture)

~ by sydneystargazers on October 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
