Comet Watch Now Open

Today I have opened up the new section of the site :        Comet Watch.

Click Picture to go to Comet Watch

Click Picture to go to Comet Watch

In this section I am focusing on 47 comets which will be visible from the Southern Hemisphere over the next 5 years. I am hoping that Comet Watch will help other amateur astronomers see comets through their own telescopes and hopefully Comet Watch will make it easier to find these comets.

At the moment there are 26 comets being targeted by Comet Watch and each of these range from 10.4 through to 14.1 in magnitude.

I am hoping to show pictures of comets taken  with my telescope , but I need to purchase  a new filter for the telescope to combat sky glow from Sydney. Hopefully this will be enough to allow me to chase down some of these comets and photograph them over several hours to check for movement against other stars.

From tomorrow, 12th October, I should have the first posts available in Comet Watch to show where the comets are.

~ by sydneystargazers on October 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
