A Cold Looking Moon

After taking the pictures of the sunspots, I was lucky enough to be able to take some more pictures of the moon that night. when I look at this picture I can imagine how cold and quiet it is up there.

When this picture was taken only 33% of the Moon was lit by the Sun making it an ideal time for a Moon picture.

However I noticed that the picture looked a little strange. There is more detail to the craters on the left side of the moon and more of a blur type effect on the right. I am not sure if this was a problem with the camera at the time but it possibly may have been caused by the dust storm which had blanketed Sydney the day before.

Since this picture was taken I have now setup the camera mount and a self timer. The telescope I use does suffer vibration at times after looking through the lens or slightly bumping the scope and maybe there was some movement in  the scope to explain the picture. With the self timer on the camera, I now have 10 seconds after pressing the shutter button before the picture is taken, giving time for the scope to stop moving.

Now I need some more clear skies over Sydney so I can work on my astro-photography.

Picture of the Moon 24/9/2009 at 33 phase. (Click foe Larger Picture)

Picture of the Moon 24/9/2009 at 33% phase. (Click for Larger Picture)

~ by sydneystargazers on October 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
